Customize Shared Mode session intro steps on a Meta Quest for Business device

This article is only applicable to admins with relevant permissions.
You can customize the intro steps that people complete when starting a Shared Mode session on a Meta Quest for Business device. You can do this for either:
  • Devices configured independently in Shared Mode, so that the setting is applied to this device only
  • Shared Mode device profiles, so that the setting is applied to all devices connected to this device profile
Required session intro steps
There are some required steps you can’t turn off:
  • Acknowledge safety: The user acknowledges health and safety warnings.
  • Agree to Terms of Service: The user agrees to the Terms of Service.
The below session intro steps are required when the Shared Mode device has apps that require their features:
  • Enable hand and body tracking: The user is asked whether to enable hand and body tracking and acknowledge privacy policy.
  • Enable eye tracking: The user is asked whether to enable eye tracking and acknowledge privacy policy.
If hand and body tracking and eye tracking are not enabled during session intro steps, the user will be asked to enable them when they try to open an app that uses them.
Turn off optional intro steps
  1. Click Devices in the left menu of Admin Center.
  2. Then:
    • If you’re customizing intro steps for a device configured independently in Shared Mode, then click the name of the device.
    • If you’re customizing intro steps for a Shared Mode device profile, then click Device profiles in the left menu and click the name of the device profile.
  3. Click the Device experience tab.
  4. Click Session intro.
  5. Click the toggle next to optional steps you want to turn off. Optional steps include:
    • Wake controllers: The user is asked to confirm that the controllers are connected.
    • Adjust device fit: The user is guided through fitting the device properly.
    • Create a session passcode: The user is asked to create a passcode for their session. If you turn this off, then the session expires after 5 minutes of activity.
  6. Click Save.
After people have completed intro steps in Shared Mode, they will choose which app (from those you’ve added) to open unless you’ve turned on single-app experience.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No